OPTION 1 — You don’t yet use Google Workspace in your school
Even if you don’t want to use Google Workspace in your school otherwise, you could always set up a domain, just issue logins to teachers and simply turn off all other features except YouTube to use the video whitelisting feature. Google Workspace is free and setup is fast and simple - we can do it for you.
Once you have your accounts, move onto Option 2 below...
OPTION 2 — You already use Google Workspace in your school
1. Get your Super Admin to sign in (a standard user will not see these options or have console access) to admin.google.com then head to Apps >> Additional Google services >> Settings for YouTube
2. In the Content Settings box, turn on "Signed in users in your organization can only watch restricted and approved videos"
3. In the Permissions box, select a mode (see screenshot below) for each organisational unit (OU). If there is only one OU for all staff currently, separate them so classroom-based staff can't be approvers (why? because to approve a video you need to see it, so would have no restrictions in front of the class - very risky; it is best to have at least a few approvers and for them to be office-based staff ). An example approach is in the screenshot below (for pupils, either pick moderate or strict, then probably moderate for most staff except the approvers).
4. To approve a video: when 'approvers' are signed into YouTube (only with their school Google Workspace account), they can simply navigate to the blocked video and click the 'Approve' button in the blue bar in the second screenshot below and all logged-in users will see it. Note that will only work for end users if they are also signed in to YouTube.
5. How to approve a video
When staff with this setting are signed into YouTube with their school Google Workspace account, they can now approve a video for all staff to see by simply clicking the 'Approve' button in the blue bar that you can see in the screenshot below. You must be signed in to YouTube to approve a video or to view a video.
6. (optional): Restrict sign in to your Google Workspace domain
To prevent the very unlikely case of a user signing in with an alternate Google Workspace account which may have different settings to yours, it is possible to restrict sign in on a Chromebook or Windows/Mac device to only users in your Google Workspace domain. Follow the instructions below if you want to enforce this:
If you also manage mobile devices, your MDM provider may also be able to provide similar restrictions. Please consult their documentation/support.
7. Now you can watch a newly approved video
For a teacher to view one of these videos, just remember to log into Google Workspace as a teacher user.
If you don't log in, you will not be able to see it as you will be using the main YouTube mode for your school.
But remember the safeguarding considerations above: those with content approval status and who are logged in can see any video, so the utmost caution is required!
NB - this list previously included deactivating YouTube for students. This is no longer required since the latest age-related changes.